Ordinary Meeting



Meeting Date:     Tuesday, 26 March, 2019

Location:            Council Chambers, City Administrative Building, Bridge Road, Nowra

Time:                   5.00pm


Membership (Quorum - 7)

All Councillors





Addendum Agenda



Finance Corporate & Community Services

CL19.86....... Appointment - New Members to the Shoalhaven Tourism Advisory Group - 2019........................................................................................................................ 1                           




Addendum Agenda - Ordinary Meeting – Tuesday 26 March 2019

Page 0



CL19.86     Appointment - New Members to the Shoalhaven Tourism Advisory Group - 2019


HPERM Ref:       D19/93948


Group:                Finance Corporate & Community Services Group 

Section:              Tourism 

Attachments:     1.  STAG - New Members - Precis of Recommended Members   

Purpose / Summary

To formally appoint the new members to the Shoalhaven Tourism Advisory Group (STAG) in accordance with the Terms of Reference.


That Council

1.    Appoint to the Shoalhaven Tourism Advisory Group Committee the following members:

a.    Mr Rob Crowe

b.    Mr Mat Lock

c.    Mr Mark Thirwall

d.    Mr David Fleeting

e.    Mr Neil Rodgers

2.    Formally acknowledge and thank retiring members for the valued contribution to the Shoalhaven Tourism Advisory Group: Special thanks to Lynn Locke for her extended service, including many years as Chair, and Paul McLeod, and Louise Hallum.




1.    Appoint the members as recommended and formally thank those who have retired.

Implications: Approving this recommendation will see STAG with a mix of industry-based representatives in line with the Terms of Reference. 



In March 2019, five of the current STAG committee members completed their two-year term. Three of the five resigned. Special thanks should go to retiring Chair – Lynne Locke who served for six (6) years on the STAG, more recently as the Chair.  Also, thanks go to Louise Hallum retiring Deputy Chair and Committee member Paul McLeod.

Under the STAG Terms of Reference 5 industry positions are to be filled at this time. Two were filled by existing members, and three new committee members were selected.

Nominations were received, and interviews conducted by a Selection Panel which included the Deputy Mayor, Cl Patricia White, Tourism Marketing Specialist, Kristy Mayhew, and Chair of STAG, Lynn Locke.

The process for candidate selection brings to STAG a range of direct industry knowledge, experience and insight that will greatly assist STAG and Council in its tourism related activities.  These applicants are:

Mr Rob Crowe

Mr Mat Lock

Mr Mark Thirwall

Mr David Fleeting

Mr Neil Rodgers


The full STAG Committee will comprise the following members:

All Councillors

Clr Gash – Voting Delegate

Clr Alldrick – Voting Delegate

Clr Pakes – Alternate Delegate

Clr Kitchener – Alternate Delegate

Mr David Goodman, Sports Board Representative

Mr Mat Lock

Mr Mark Thirwall

Mr David Fleeting

Ms Juliet Barr

Mr Rob Crow

Dr James Lin

Ms Kylie Pickett

Mr Neil Rodgers

Ms Brenda Sambrook

NPWS Representative


Community Engagement

The Shoalhaven Tourism Advisory Group plays an important role in the development of tourism related strategic plans and activities and provides critical input through industry representatives in this process.

Roles were advertised via the Council website and Facebook to industry members or interested community members.  This occurs on an annual basis when the two (2) year term of STAG members comes to an end.  Existing STAG members can either retire or reapply through the application and interview process and are considered alongside other new potential recruits.



Addendum Agenda - Ordinary Meeting – Tuesday 26 March 2019

Page 0


PDF Creator