

Meeting Minutes

council@shoalhaven.nsw.gov.au | shoalhaven.nsw.gov.au f @ • >

MINUTES OF THE NORTHERN COASTAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Meeting Date: Monday, 17 March 2025

Location: Jervis Bay Room, City Administrative Centre, Bridge Road, Nowra

Time: 4.06pm

The following members were present:

Clr Patricia White - Chairperson Mr Claude Domio Mr John Gould

Others present:

Clr Selena Clancy

Mr Lindsay Usher – Acting Director City Development

Mr Nigel Smith - Lead Coastal Management

Ms Aimee Beardsmore - Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water

Mr Danny Wiecek - Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water

Ms Carla Ganassin - Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development - Fisheries

Ms Emma Maratea - Rhelm

Ms Heike Peterlin - Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure - Crown Lands

Mr John Bucinskas - Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water

Mr Michael Rosenthal - Rhelm

Mr Peter Hawkins – Transport for NSW

The Mayor provided an Acknowledgement to Country and a Code of Conduct Statement

Apologies / Leave of Absence

An apology was received from Mr Alasdair Stratton and Ms Leonie Sinclair

Confirmation of the Minutes

RESOLVED (Claude Domio / Clr White)

That the Minutes of the Northern Coastal Management Program Advisory Committee held on Tuesday 13 August 2024 be confirmed.

CARRIED



Declaration of Interests

Nil

REPORTS

NC25.1 Adoption of the Lower Shoalhaven River Coastal Management Program

HPERM Ref: D25/71640

Representative Ms Emma Maratea from Rhelm provided the meeting with a presentation of the Lower Shoalhaven River Coastal Management Program, outlining the following:

- Recap on the Lower Shoalhaven River CMP
- Engagement Undertaken
- Public Exhibition
- Complete Stage 4 and Progress to Stage 5

The presentation will be sent to members via distribution of the Minutes. Some of the key points made are:

- The following swamp areas have been brought into the CMP throughout the process:
 - Coomanderry Swamp
 - Brundee Swamp
 - Saltwater Swamp
- Currently in part of Stage 4 drafting up the document and public exhibition, hopefully move into Stage 5 – implementation, mid-late 2025.
- Community and stakeholder engagement included but not limited to:
 - Website updates and information
 - o Community newsletters
 - o Agency stakeholder, council staff workshops
 - Community drop in sessions
 - Conversations with Indigenous representatives
 - Online mapping tool
 - Community survey
 - Meeting with community groups
 - Public exhibition engagement activities
- Approximately 215 options assessed, ended up with 60 management actions included in the CMP business plan with \$26.64million over a 10 year period.
- The CMP was exhibited for 99 days, above the mandated requirement of 28 days.
- Key topics of concerns were:
 - Entrance management and flood mitigation
 - Foreshore erosion and stabilisation
 - Environmental protection and biodiversity
 - Recreational Amenity and community access



- General plan comprehensiveness and clarity
- Next steps are as follows:
 - o (Stage 4) Council adopt the CMP then Minister Certification and Gazettal of CMP
 - o (Stage 5) Implementation of CMP actions in accordance with the business plan

Recommendation (Item to be determined under delegated authority)

That the Committee endorse that the Lower Shoalhaven River Coastal Management Program (CMP) is provided to Council for adoption and submission to the relevant NSW Minister for certification.

RESOLVED (John Gould / Clr White)

That:

- 1. The Committee endorse that the Lower Shoalhaven River Coastal Management Program (CMP) is provided to Council for adoption and submission to the relevant NSW Minister for certification.
- 2. Council consider, through the implementation of the Lower Shoalhaven River CMP, additional sites for water testing where available resources and funding can be identified.

CARRIED

Post Meeting Note:

Part 2 of the resolution will be reported to council via a staff report of the CMP.

There being no further business, the meeting concluded, the time being 5.20pm.

Clr Patricia White CHAIRPERSON